Polk County DMV

Polk County Florida Traffic School

Polk County – DMV Addresses and Phone Numbers

930 Lily Avenue East
Haines City, FL 33844
(863) 421-3202

692 U.S. Hwy 60 West
Lake Wales, FL 33853
(863) 678-4160

3249 Lakeland Hills Boulevard
Lakeland, FL 33805
(863) 421-3202

Polk
County located right in the middle of the State of Florida is close to some of Florida’s largest counties like Orange, Hillsborough and Manatee. Home to more than 560,000 people, Polk County residents have a short drive to major metropolitan cities like Orlando, Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota thanks to Interstates 4, 75 and 275. Lakeland is the largest city located in Polk County but the county government is located in the city of Bartow. The county came about when Hillsborough was split into eastern and western halves in 1861.

What makes Polk County special is its proximity. It is about halfway between the southern tip of Florida and the northern part of the state which borders Georgia. It is almost just as central from the eastern part of Florida to the west side. It is 35 miles southwest of Orlando and east of Tampa by just 25 miles. Within a 100 mile radius of Polk County there are an estimated 7.5 million people. Larger than the state of Rhode Island and about the same size as the state of Delaware, Polk County is the fourth-largest in the State of Florida. Since 2000, Polk County’s population has grown by 20%. Its nickname of “Imperial” Polk County dates back to the early 1900’s.

Polk County Links

Polk County
Polk County Clerk of the Court
Polk County Traffic Citation Information
Polk County Traffic Department
Polk County Sherriff’s Office
10th Judicial Circuit Court
Traffic Ticket Defense

Services Provided In Polk County
The County Clerk has many responsibilities and the position was created by the Florida Constitution in Article V and Article VIII. The County Clerk is the custodian of exhibits and evidence and all court records. He or she maintains progress dockets and is responsible for collecting and disbursing court fines. The clerk also is involved in court proceedings where he or she keeps minutes and enters judgments and orders.

The DHSMV offers different services than the clerk. This department deals with issuing drivers licenses, permits, titles and registrations. This is not limited to just automobiles either. This department also oversees boats, RV’s, mobile homes and motorcycles.

DHSMV Department Overview
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) influences nearly every citizen in the state of Florida and many of the tourists and visitors to the Sunshine State as well. The DHSMV is where you go to get a driver’s license or a photo identification card. Vehicle titles and registration for boats, cars and mobile homes are handled by this department. The department’s stated goal is to make “highways safe through service, education, and enforcement”. The Executive Director of the DHSMV is Electra Theodorides-Bustle. Lee Ann Korst is the Deputy Executive Director and the Chief of Staff is Larry Ringers.

Registering Your Motor Vehicle In Polk County
There are three things a driver needs to prove a vehicle has been registered in the state of Florida. Once the tax and fees are paid a metal license plate, a decal and a registration certificate are issued. It is the law in Florida that you register your motor vehicle. If you are going to register your vehicle in person at the local county tax collectors office you need to have the original title and proof of insurance. Just remember that in Florida you are required to get a new license plate every six years.

Getting A Title For Your Vehicle In Polk County
The title is simply the proof of ownership of a vehicle. Anytime you buy a new vehicle or take ownership of a vehicle it is the law that you apply for a title for that vehicle in your name. The application for a title, like a registration, can be made through your county tax collector. It is not necessary to get a title for motorized bicycles, mopeds or trailers weighing less than 2,000 pounds.

Do I Need Auto Insurance In Polk County?
The answer is simple. YES! If you own a vehicle with at least four tires it must be registered and in order to register it you have to have proof of insurance. You just can’t have any insurance either. You must have “Florida coverage” with minimum coverage for personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL). These are absolute musts for driving in Florida. If you don’t have the correct insurance your license could be suspended and reinstatement fees can range from $150 to $500.

 

Comments are closed.