New State Laws

Florida Traffic Laws

A new state law goes into effect on October 1, 2009 and it will send more Floridians to Traffic Schools like this one. Florida State Law is set to require driver’s convicted of failing to stop for a school bus, running a red light or highway racing to attend traffic school even if this is a first offense. If you fail to take the class within 90 days, you will lose your license until you do. This is part of a trend across the United States to put stricter penalties on acts the government considers dangerous on its roadways.

This is just the first step in making the roads safer in Florida. On January 1, 2010 another new law will go into effect. This one will apply to any driver found to be at fault in three crashes during a three-year period. That driver will lose his or her license unless they pass a driver improvement course and a driving test. The cost could be anywhere between $300 – 500.

Most of these changes are being instituted due to a belief that aggressive driving is becoming a bigger threat to motorist’s safety than drunk driving. A recent study by the American Automobile Association Foundation found that aggressive driving, which includes speeding, tailgating, weaving, not obeying traffic signs and changing lanes without indicating was a factor in 56% of all fatal crashes in the United States from 2003-2007. If you have a ticket and don’t want to lose your license for any period of time, sign up for a course right here at The Traffic School.

Comments are closed.